Louisiana College is a private, Baptist, coeducational college of liberal arts and sciences with selected professional programs. The campus is located in the Alexandria-Pineville area of central Louisiana. Louisiana College is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award Associate, Baccalaureate, and Masters degree. Separate accreditation for specific programs has been awarded by the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs, Louisiana State Department of Education, Council on Social Work Education, the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and the Louisiana State Board of Nursing.

The college is located on an 85-acre campus with a total of twenty-five academic and residential buildings. Most of the students at Louisiana College come from Central Louisiana, but many states and several foreign countries are represented in the current student body. The faculty and staff of Louisiana College genuinely care for the students. Their primary concern is to enhance student learning and to encourage the students Christian growth. The college was chartered in 1906 as a non-profit corporation with the object to own, operate and conduct a Baptist college, and to foster Christian education. It is governed by a Board of Trustees, which is chosen by the Louisiana Baptist Convention.

Louisiana College was founded in Pineville, Louisiana on October 3, 1906. It is the successor to two earlier Louisiana Baptist schools, Mt. Lebanon University and Keatchie Female College. The first, a mens school founded in 1852 by the North Louisiana Baptist Convention, was located in the community of Mt. Lebanon. The womens college, founded in 1857 by the Grand Cane Association of Baptist Churches, was located in the community of Keatchie. After a history beset by financial difficulties, both schools came under control of the State Baptist Convention in 1899. An Education Commission was selected by the state convention to administer the schools with the understanding that both would be succeeded by a more centrally located college as soon as a suitable campus could be selected. When Louisiana College was opened in 1906, Mt. Lebanon College was closed, followed by Keatchie a few years later. The enrollment of students in 1906 at the opening of the college was 19. Today, more than 12,000 have been graduated since the college was founded.

Louisiana College was administered by the Education Commission until 1921, when the commission was replaced by a Board of Trustees as called for in a new charter. The first administrative head of Louisiana College was W.F. Taylor, whose title was chairman of the faculty. Since its opening, Louisiana College has had eight presidents: Dr. E.O. Ware, appointed in 1908; Dr. W.C. Friley, in 1909; Dr. Claybrook Cottingham, in 1910; Dr. Edgar Godbold, in 1941; Dr. G. Earl Guinn, in 1951; Dr. Robert L. Lynn, in 1975; Dr. Rory Lee, in 1997; and Joe W. Aguilllard, in 2005 and our current President, Dr. Rick Brewer in 2015.

The mission of Louisiana College is to provide liberal arts, professional, and graduate programs characterized by devotion to the preeminence of the Lord Jesus, allegiance to the authority of the Holy Scriptures, dedication to academic excellence for the glory of God, and commitment to change the world for Christ by the power of the Holy Spirit.